skip to content

Staff in Spanish & Portuguese

Spanish and Portuguese


Former members of the Department of Spanish and Portuguese

Former members of the Department of Spanish and Portuguese

  • Dr Anthony Close (February 1937 - September 2010) (Reader in Spanish - retired in September 2004)

  • Dr Anne Holloway (Lecturer, Department of Spanish and Portuguese Studies, Queen's University, Belfast)

  • Dr Ann Frost (Supervisor)

  • Prof Tess Knighton (Professor at the Institució Milà i Fontanals, Barcelona, from May 2011)
  • Dr Ana Margarida Martins (Lecturer in Portuguese Studies, University of Exeter from September 2013)

  • Dr Arantza Mayo (Lecturer in Hispanic Studies, Royal Holloway from September 2008)

  • Professor Melveena McKendrick (Professor Emerita of Spanish Golden-Age Literature, Culture and Society - retired on 30 September 2008)

  • Dr PJ Lennon (Affiliated Lecturer until September 2017)

  • Professor Christopher Pountain (Professor of Spanish Linguistics at Queen Mary, University of London from 2004-2013)

  • Professor Paul Julian Smith (Professor of Spanish at Cambridge University from October 1991 until September 2010. Now Distinguished Professor of Hispanic and Luso-Brazilian Literatures and Languages at the CUNY Graduate Center, New York, USA.)

  • Professor Alison Sinclair (Professor of Modern Spanish Literature and Intellectual History - retired on 30 September 2014)

  • Dr Lucia Villares (2009-2012, holder of the Clare College Santander Post-doctoral Studentship in Portuguese and Literary Studies; 2009-2014 Affiliated Lecturer)

  • Dr Geoffrey Walker (Lecturer - retired in September 1997)

  • Dr Elizabeth Drayson (Retired in 2020)

  • Prof. Dominic Keown (Retired in 2020)

  • Dr Caroline Egan