skip to content

Cambridge Endangered Languages and Cultures Group (CELC)

Faculty of Modern and Medieval Languages and Linguistics

 

CELC Conferences and Workshops

CELC Webinar Series

Though hosting our annual in-person conferences and workshops is currently not possible, CELC has been hosting a monthly webinar series. These webinars are designed to bring academics, students and members of the public into conversation with language activists from minority language communities.

Revitalising Kanyenʼkéha (Mohawk)

18 May 2021, 17.30 - 19.00 BST (Cambridge), 12.30 - 14.00 EDT (Ontario)

This webinar focused on the ongoing revitalisation of Kanyen’kéha (Mohawk), an endangered Northern Iroquoian language spoken in Ontario, Quebec, and New York State. We were joined by Owennatekha Brian Maracle (founder of the Onkwawenna Kentyohkwa (OK) revitalisation school in Ohsweken, Ontario); Rohahiyo Jordan Brant (teacher at OK); Karahkwenhawi Zoe Hopkins (in charge of OK’s online programme); and Ryan DeCaire (Assistant Professor, Centre for Indigenous Studies and Department of Linguistics, University of Toronto). After individual presentations by each speaker, the audience had the opportunity to ask questions in order to discuss the topics covered in more depth.

 

The Future of Louisiana Creole

5 March 2021, 17.00-18.30 GMT (Cambridge), 11.00 - 12.30 CST (Louisiana)

A recording of this event is available here.

Together with the NOUS Foundation, CELC hosted a follow-up to our very popular October webinar. We continued our conversation, focusing on the future of Louisiana Creole. The event was moderated by Oliver Mayeux and featured Scott Tilton & Rudy Bazenet (NOUS Foundation), an opening presentation by Christophe Landry, and a panel discussion including Adrien Guillory-Chatman, Herbert Wiltz, Shawande Marie, Clif St. Laurent and Jonathan Mayers.

 

Revitalizing Louisiana Creole

23 October 2020, 17.00-18.30 BST (Cambridge), 11.00 - 12.30 CST (Louisiana)

A recording of this event is available here

Together with the NOUS Foundation, CELC hosted a discussion of revitalizing Louisiana Creole. The event comprised three panels moderated by Oliver Mayeux (CELC): - ‘Building Bridges: New Opportunities for Louisiana Creole’ (Scott Tilton & Rudy Bazenet, NOUS Foundation); - ‘Foundations: A Retrospective on Revitalization’ (Herbert Wiltz & Christophe Landry); and - ‘Path Forward: Amplifying Louisiana Creole’ (Adrien Guillory-Chatman, Jonathan Mayers, Nathan Wendte).