skip to content

Faculty Board

Faculty of Modern and Medieval Languages and Linguistics


Membership and Contacts

Black and white photo of person sitting on a bench outside the Raised Faculty Building

Faculty Board

The Faculty Board is chaired Prof. Geoffrey Kantaris and Prof. Ianthi Tsimpli. The Secretary is Mr Sam Oliver.

Membership of the Board as of 1st October 2022:

Class (a) (ex officio) - the six Directors of Section:

Class (b) - two members appointed by the Council (for two years) after consultation with the General Board:

Class (c) - nine members elected by members of the Faculty (for four years):

Class (d) - up to six members co-opted by the Faculty Board (for up to one year): 

Class (e) - three representatives of cognate studies and holders of specified offices (for two years):

  • Representative from the Faculty of English (Professor Paul Russell)
  • Representative from the Faculty of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies (Mr Aishwarj Kumar​) 
  • Executive Director of the Language Centre (Professor Jocelyn Wyburd)

Class (f) - four members elected by and from the students in the Faculty:

  • Ms Amy Brook (Modern Languages Undergraduate Academic Representative)
  • vacant (Modern Languages Postgraduate Academic Representative)
  • Mr Harrison Moore - (Linguistics Undergraduate Academic Representative)
  • vacant - (Linguistics Postgraduate Academic Representative)